Over the past couple weeks, while on break from school, I've thought multiple times as I've looked on the stack of unread books on the shelf in office, the piles on my nightstand and next to my bed, and the digital downloads that have been on my iPad for more than a year.

The thing is, at this point in my life, I have the money to buy whatever I want to read. I'm single and yes, while I am a teacher, I am a sixteenth year teacher, and I have a very lucrative tutoring side job.

However, with that tutoring job, and with doing karate (although I quit coaching last year for the travel team...the time got to be too much a strain), I just don't have the time to read my books anymore, and if I'm honest, I haven't for years.

As I said in the "Chopping Block" thread, I have decided to cut out a of good books from my list. There just isn't time to enjoy them. I will keep getting certain comics that I have really enjoyed and read consistently, but they are going to be far fewer.

Namely, I can think off the top of my head that I will continue picking up Flintstones, Brigg's Land, The Warlords of Appalachia, Archie, Betty & Veronica, Doom Patrol, Amazing Spider-Man, Mother Panic, Batman, Shade the Changing Girl, Cave Carson Has a Cybernetic Eye, and a few others. I will keep on getting trades of stuff that sounds good--I have found that it's a great way to read the Valiant books, for instance. Of course, I'm sure I will backslide after hearing good things about some ongoing titles, but I may just go ahead and tradewait those too. I have to remind myself that just because I buy something, it doesn't mean I'm going to read it.

I'm looking forward to Scott Snyder and Greg Capullo's big epic fun story coming up in the DCU, just because they are saying that it will not feature heroes fighting heroes and is going to have a very "celebratory" feel to it.